A plea for Simplicity - Alternate rules

Venez découvrir les récits des aventures publiées par nos Maîtres de Jeu
Ridolfin
Adhérent
Identité : Philippe

A plea for Simplicity - Alternate rules

Message par Ridolfin » jeu. mai 08, 2008 07:11

Alternate rules proposed by Ridolfin to streamline a 3.x D&D

In the following text I bound together the posts I wrote sparsingly. I also corrected some obvious flaws. The purpose is to help in giving possible ways to simplify and to optimize a next generation of 3.x rules set. I'm not a game designer and I'm not considering I'm good at that. However, I have a very long experience in playing and Dming and thus I imagine I have a pretty large know how in using pen and paper RPG. It is that one I use to gather the following thoughts.
If you are interrested to react, please do it on the Paizo genuine PFRPG thread you followed up to here. Enjoy !

Summary (current)
  1. Initiative Check
  2. Actions
  3. Tracking & Loging of the actions
  4. Armor Class evolution
    1. The new AC (nAC) definition
    2. The new DR (nDR) definition
    3. Conversion and Compatibility
    4. What about the 3.5 Ed DR ?
A - Initiative Check
Wellll ! I have to start by something and I propose Initiative check.
This is by the rules a dexterity check. It means we have to roll the dices once at the beginning of each combat sequence. So 6 players and say 4 monsters give 10 rolls just to determine an order of actions. Plus, sadly a bad roll will put the quicksilver hero at the last of the pile. Also, it demands to each player and the DM to find a modifier score on a sheet and to proceed in writing the plot chart for each new fight of the session. Not often a great moment of Role Play IMHO.
So: